The most important thing to know about permissions is that they are all set by the position they are assigned to. This means that if you are updating the permissions within a specific position, all of the workers in that position will have the same permissions. There are two default permission groups in Workhub: Worker, which has a default set of permissions for worker components, and Admin, which has full permissions for all admin components, and of course they can both be customized to your preferences.
Permissions can be accessed from the Positions component. When creating or updating a position, you will notice a drop down to control the Permissions template. There are 3 options here (Worker, Admin and Custom), and by clicking the icon next to each permission type, you can review the levels of permissions.
This is how they are setup by default in your account, but of course they can be managed from the permissions tab itself, and by selecting either the Admin or Worker template. Creating these templates allow you to assign multiple positions the same permissions without having to go in and select all the access manually.
The Custom option is exactly that, it gives you the ability to customize the permissions for the Position you are currently editing without changing any others.
Note: This feature is for paid customers only.
By clicking on the permissions tab, you can see an overview of the number of positions that have each listed permission. You can also manage the default worker and admin permission templates from here.
There are two options for the defaults, Worker and Admin. You can change what the defaults themselves apply as permissions by clicking the Edit Default option, but keep in mind that when you change the default you are changing the permissions for ALL positions that are set to that option.
All newly created positions start off set to Worker Default. If you haven't yet updated the defaults themselves, this will give permissions to everything someone might need to complete items assigned to them. With these permissions you can upload your certificate, complete your Online Courses and acknowledge your Policies without any access to the Admin side of the software.
The second default is for the Admin. Again, if you haven't yet updated the default itself, this will provide anyone assigned to this position full admin access.
Using the Set Permission option for Custom, will take the default that the position had already been set to and allow you to modify it for just this position itself. Use this option to give someone limited access to the Admin side for an auditor for example where you can set it up for view only access.
Clicking on the Worker or Admin card under Permission Default, will open up a layer where you can edit these permissions/
There is also a third Custom setting which allows you to change the defaults and customize the permissions for a particular positions. You can then create various positions with varying permissions. You may want to use custom permission settings in instances where you would want someone to be able to perform some admin tasks, such as adding new workers or approving certificates, but not other admin tasks such as updating policies or changing course settings.
Permission types refer to individual Portal Components. These allow you to administer multiple components such as workers, locations, divisions, equipment, certificates, etc. or from the worker's perspective, to be able to view the certificate component, see SDS, or review policies. Permission levels determine whether the worker is allowed to view, insert, update, or delete these components. There are a few components where not all of these levels are applicable and you will see that denoted by a blank space where there is normally a checkbox.
To set custom permissions head to one of your positions and click the Permission drop down. Then click the icon next to the Custom option and it will take you to the Custom Permissions page which will allow you to view and update permissions for each individual component. We would recommend adding a custom setting for positions that require limited admin access rather than editing the permissions from the Admin permission group, as this would affect all existing Admins.
On this page, you can select the individual permission levels for each permission type and apply them.
Setting both the Admin and Worker templates is as simple as selecting the template, and updating them the same way.